Les meilleures astuces pour gérer la perte de poils chez les grands chiens

La perte de poils peut être le fléau de certains propriétaires d'animaux, surtout s'ils vivent avec un chien qui perd beaucoup de poils toute l'année. Les grandes races de chiens, notamment les labradors, les huskies et les saint-bernards, peuvent être parmi les pires contrevenants. Heureusement, il existe une série de mesures pour minimiser la perte de poils et faire en sorte qu'elle devienne moins problématique. Le Dr Linda Simon MVB MRCVS, vétérinaire, a partagé avec nous les meilleures astuces pour gérer la perte de poils chez les chiens. grands chiens.

Grands chiens - Chiens de grande race - Grandes races de chiens - Perte de poils

Conseils du vétérinaire pour gérer la perte de poils chez les grands chiens

Intégrez un brossage quotidien dans la routine de votre chien.

Cette opération doit être effectuée tout au long de l'année et peut être augmentée à deux fois par jour pendant la période de mue. En plus d'éliminer les poils morts et les débris, cela permet de s'assurer que votre chien accepte son régime de toilettage et tolère un brossage quotidien sans se battre. Cette tâche quotidienne vous permet également d'éliminer les enchevêtrements ou les nœuds avant qu'ils ne s'aggravent.

Utilisez un produit qui est à la hauteur de la tâche et adapté aux grands chiens.

Si la brosse que vous utilisez n'est pas adaptée à la tâche, vous risquez d'incommoder votre chien et de ne pas éliminer correctement les poils morts. Le type de brosse à utiliser dépend du type de pelage de votre chien et il est important de savoir s'il a un pelage double ou non. Si vous n'êtes pas sûr du type de brosse à utiliser, demandez à votre toiletteur pour chiens. Les brosses comme les Furminators sont populaires car elles ont la capacité d'éliminer rapidement une grande quantité de poils morts. Utilisez une brosse suffisamment grande pour que le travail ne prenne pas trop de temps.

Prière de Tous les Jours pour les ...

LES PLUS BELLES TROUVAILLES DU CHIEN

Brosses pour les grandes races de chiens

Tous les produits sont liés pour faciliter l'achat.



Donnez à votre chien une alimentation riche en nutriments favorables à la peau et au pelage.

Les micronutriments tels que la biotine, la vitamine E et les acides gras oméga 3 sont tous importants pour renforcer le pelage de votre chien et prévenir la perte de poils. En outre, des suppléments peuvent être ajoutés à leurs repas.

Ne gardez pas la maison trop chaude.

Si votre salon est toujours un sauna grâce au chauffage central, le corps de votre chien pensera qu'il est en plein été. Il commencera alors à perdre sa fourrure, car son cerveau décidera qu'il doit faire quelque chose pour réguler la température de votre chien.

Big Dogs Grooming

Un gros chien peut signifier un gros nettoyage !

Envisagez d'investir dans un aspirateur automatique tel qu'un Roomba ou un Eufy. Ces appareils peuvent être réglés pour se déplacer dans votre maison et ramasser les poils pendant que vous êtes dehors ou que vous dormez. Lorsque vous le pouvez, optez pour un modèle destiné à ramasser les poils d'animaux. Pour de nombreux propriétaires très occupés, ces produits sont un véritable sauveur de vie. Bien qu'ils puissent être coûteux, la plupart des propriétaires à qui j'ai parlé estiment que l'investissement en valait la peine.

Voir aussi Comment choisir une bande ventrale pour chien

Vous pouvez commencer à utiliser des housses de meubles, notamment pour les canapés en tissu... Comme beaucoup grands chiens de race Comme beaucoup de chiens bavent aussi, cela peut aider à garder vos meubles secs et à éviter qu'ils ne développent cette "odeur de chien" caractéristique.

Gardez vos grands chiens à jour dans leur prévention des parasites tout au long de l'année.

Certains propriétaires de chiens pensent qu'il est important de le faire uniquement pendant les mois chauds, mais c'est tout simplement faux. Une infestation de parasites externes provoque des démangeaisons excessives et une perte de poils. En plus d'entraîner une perte excessive de poils, les parasites peuvent causer de l'inconfort et des maladies de peau chez votre animal bien-aimé. N'oubliez pas d'utiliser un produit approuvé par un vétérinaire, car certains produits en vente libre ne sont pas efficaces.

Conseils des propriétaires de grands chiens

Nous avons également recueilli d'excellents conseils auprès de parents de grands chiens et voici ce qu'ils ont à dire.

Outils de toilettage Big Dogs

Pour les chiens à poils courts, vous pouvez utiliser une brosse en poils naturels ou un gant avec des poils. Vous devrez brosser votre toutou dans le sens inverse de la pousse du poil, en arrachant tous les poils morts, puis dans le sens de la pousse pour les éliminer. En répétant le processus plusieurs fois, vous éliminerez la plupart des poils morts." - Leo Gomez

Conseils sur la perte de poils - Grandes races de chiens

"Brosser, brosser, brosser - L'une des meilleures choses à faire est d'établir un programme de brossage de votre chien au moins deux ou trois fois par semaine pendant 10 à 15 minutes par séance. Vous pouvez adapter ce rythme en fonction du pelage de votre chien et de ses habitudes de mue. Vous constaterez que certaines races nécessitent un brossage quotidien afin d'éliminer les poils perdus et d'éviter les nœuds. Pour les chiens à mue saisonnière, préparez-vous à passer à un brossage quotidien lorsqu'ils commencent à perdre beaucoup de poils au printemps ou à l'automne." - Jen Stark

Grands chiens - Chiens de grande race - Grandes races de chiens - Perte de poils

"Pendant la saison des mues, une bonne approche pour faciliter le nettoyage consiste à limiter l' accès de vos chiens à votre maison. En fait, vous les empêchez de perdre leurs poils à plusieurs endroits. Bien que vous ne souhaitiez pas trop les confiner et limiter leur espace, vous souhaitez qu'ils restent dans certaines zones de la maison que vous pouvez nettoyer plus facilement. Par exemple, gardez-les dans la cuisine et ne les laissez pas sur les canapés ! Les barrières pour enfants peuvent être utiles ici" - Jeremy

J'espère que cet article vous a plu et si vous avez d'autres conseils à partager, commentez-les ci-dessous. Et n'oubliez pas : qui dit gros chien ne dit pas forcément gros dégât !

Contributeurs

Dr. Linda Simon MVB MRCVS - vétérinaire et également consultante vétérinaire pour le compte de FiveBarks.

See also  Dog Grooming Tools

Leonardo Gomez - le papa du chien de Lulu et le fondateur de Try Runball.

Jen Stark - amoureuse des chiens et agricultrice passionnée qui élève des chèvres, des poulets, des dindes, des vaches et des cochons dans sa ferme.

Jeremy - a possédé des chiens pendant plus de 25 ans, il a eu de nombreuses grandes races de chiens.

Laissez un commentaire

The Best Tips to Handle Shedding in Big Dogs

Shedding can be the bane of some pet owner's lives, especially if they live with a heavy shedder who loses fur all year round. Large dog breeds — including Labradors, Huskies and Saint Bernards — can be some of the worse offenders. Thankfully, there are a range of things that can be done to minimize shedding and ensure it becomes less of an issue. Veterinarian, Dr. Linda Simon MVB MRCVS, shared the the best tips to handle shedding in big dogs.

The Best Tips to Handle Shedding in Big Dogs Dogsized

Vet Tips to Handle Shedding in Big Dogs

Incorporate daily brushing into your dog’ routine.

This should be done all year round and may need to be increased to twice daily during their molting season. This not only removes dead fur and debris, it helps ensure your dog is accepting of their grooming regimen and tolerates a daily brush without putting up a fight. This everyday task also enables you to work out any tangles or knotted spots before they worsen.

Use a product that is up for the task and fit for big dogs.

If the brush you are using isn’t right for the job, you may end up causing your dog discomfort and not adequately removing the dead fur. The right type of brush depends on your dog’s coat type and it is important you know if they have a double coat or not. If unsure of which brush to use, ask your dog groomer. Brushes like Furminators are popular because they have the ability to remove a large amount of dead fur quickly. Use one that is big enough, ensuring the job doesn’t take too long.

TOP DOGSIZED FINDS

Brushes for Large Dog Breeds

All products are linked for easy purchase.


The Best Tips to Handle Shedding in Big Dogs DogsizedThe Best Tips to Handle Shedding in Big Dogs Dogsized
The Best Tips to Handle Shedding in Big Dogs DogsizedThe Best Tips to Handle Shedding in Big Dogs Dogsized
The Best Tips to Handle Shedding in Big Dogs DogsizedThe Best Tips to Handle Shedding in Big Dogs Dogsized

Feed your dog a diet rich in skin and coat supporting nutrients.

Micronutrients such as Biotin, Vitamin E and Omega 3 Fatty Acids are all important for strengthening your dog’s coat and preventing shedding. On top of that, supplements can be added to their meals.

Don’t keep the house too hot.

If it is always a sauna in your living room thanks to the central heating, your dog’s body will think they are in the middle of summer. The fur will then start to shed, as the brain decides it needs to do something to regulate your dog’s temperature. 

The Best Tips to Handle Shedding in Big Dogs Dogsized

Big dogs may mean big cleaning!

Consider investing in an automatic vacuum cleaner such as a Roomba or Eufy. These devices can be set to travel around your house, collecting the fur while you’re out and about or sleeping. When you can, opt for a model targeted at collecting pet hair. For many busy owners, these products are a real life saver. While they can be costly, most owners I’ve spoken to feel that the investment was worth it. 

You may wish to start using furniture covers, particularly for fabric sofas.. As many large dog breeds also drool, this can help keep your furniture dry and prevent it from developing that characteristic ‘doggy smell’.

Keep your big dogs up to date with their parasite prevention all year round.

Some dog owners think that it is only important to do this in the warmer months, but this is simply untrue. An external parasite infestation will cause excessive itchiness and fur loss. Not only will this mean excess shedding, parasites can cause discomfort and skin disease for your beloved pet. Remember to use a vet approved product as some over the counter items aren’t effective.

Tips From Owners Of Big Dogs

We've also gathered some great tips from fur parents of big dogs and here are what they have to say.

The Best Tips to Handle Shedding in Big Dogs Dogsized

For dogs with short coats, you can use a natural bristle brush or a glove with bristles. You will have to brush your pooch in the opposite direction of the hair growth, pulling out all the dead hair and then in the direction of the growth to shed them. Repeating the process a few times will remove most of the dead hair." — Leo Gomez

The Best Tips to Handle Shedding in Big Dogs Dogsized

"Brush, Brush, Brush - One of the best things you can do is get your dog on a schedule where you brush them a minimum of two or three times a week for 10 to 15 minutes a session. You can adjust this to match your dog's coat and shedding habit, and you'll find that some breeds require daily brushing to stay on top of the loose hair and prevent matting. For seasonal shedders, be prepared to step up for daily brushing when they begin to shed heavily in the spring or fall months." — Jen Stark

The Best Tips to Handle Shedding in Big Dogs Dogsized

"During shedding season, a great approach to ease with the cleaning is to simply limit your dogs access to your home. Essentially, you are preventing them from shedding in multiple places. While you don't want to confine and limit their space too much, you do want to keep them to certain areas of the home that you can more readily and easily clean. For instance, keeping them in the kitchen and not letting them on the sofas! Child gates can be useful here" — Jeremy

Hope you enjoyed this article and if you have any more tips to share, please comment below. And remember: Big dogs don't necessarily mean big messes!

Contributors

Dr. Linda Simon MVB MRCVS - veterinary surgeon and also a veterinary consultant for FiveBarks.

Leonardo Gomez - Lulu's dog dad and founder of Try Runball.

Jen Stark - dog lover and passionate farmer who keeps goats, chickens, turkeys, cows and pigs on her farm.

Jeremy - has owned dogs for over 25 years, he had numerous large dog breeds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hi, I am Tiger!

Get insights, tips, and tools on the best dog supplies, dog accessories, treats, or training curated by our Chief Dogsized Influencer, Tiger. Stay in the know and instantly get connected to some of the best products and services for any sized dog from puppy, small breed, medium sized dog, to large breed dog.

Submit Your Products

To submit products for consideration, please use the Contact Us mailing address. Note, reviews are at our discretion and products can not be returned.

Dogsized Contributors

Want to increase your profile and influence in the dog community? Email us to share how you can contribute as a writer or learn more about our Ambassador Program.
LATEST POSTS
December 3, 2021
The Best Medium Sized Dogs For Kids

you may want to look into medium sized dogs. They are not too big nor too small but just the right size to keep everyone happy and safe.

Read More
November 30, 2021
The Best Big Dogs For Kids

There are plenty of big dogs that are exceptionally kid-friendly. What to consider in finding the best large dog breeds for your family

Read More
November 29, 2021
When Should Your Dog Wear Winter Dog Coats?

Not all dogs are the same, so when should you buy dog coats for winter?

Read More
November 25, 2021
How To Manage and Reduce Dog Shedding - Tips From Veterinarian

All dogs shed — be it small, medium sized dogs or large dog breeds. Dr. Georgina Ushi Phillips, DVM shared some helpful tips on how to manage and reduce dog shedding.

Read More
November 23, 2021
The Most Loved Medium Sized Dog Breeds

There is something special about medium breeds that most people cannot ignore. After all, when comparing dog sizes, they are usually more physically active than small pooches. They are also more portable than big dogs. In this respect, we have some popular suggestions for you if you are open to adopting one!

Read More

Never Miss DOGSIZED

Join thousands of subscribers !
[tptn_list]
7 Skyline Drive, 350
Hawthorne, NY 10532
dogsized [@] gmail [.com]
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram